Cigars and Legs

The Boots Are Red

Book1BootsAreRedRon Cavanaugh thought coming home after being a pilot in the Korean War would be a break from violence, until he found out his mentor, a grizzled, cynical gumshoe named Kate Nass, had been murdered; with no answers coming from the residents of the small town of Escagoula Point or their police department, he became a man on a mission. His mission became more complicated when he discovered a conspiracy involving small town thugs, a prostitution ring, drug smuggling, and the future governor of the state of Mississippi. Audrey Carmen, his leggy love interest, served as a distraction… or did she?

The first book in the Cigars and Legs series, The Boots Are Red introduces Ron, his companions, his city, and his enemies. Set in the 1950s, Ron has to deal with the limitations of technology as he pursues answers, and he has to deal with a police force governed by a man distrustful of him and with no interest in solving the Kate Nass murder.

Buy The Boots Are Red at Amazon!

The Boots Come Off

Book2BootsComeOff“She was dressed to kill, in other words, and judging by her glare I was next!”

‘”Don’t move,” I said. My 1911 said, “Yeah, don’t move.”‘

“Who are you to talk about Kate that way?” I asked.
“The man who fooled him for over a decade,” he said. Then his voice hit in my memories. Then I understood.

After the events in The Boots Are Red, Ron Cavanaugh finds himself struggling to make progress in the case he’s building against the members of the crime syndicate running rampant in his home town. He’s taken over Kate Nass’s private detective business and aims to make a mess of the plans of the syndicate that killed his friend. But he’s fighting against connected men: business leaders, politicians, and crooked cops. They’re fighting back, too, and consider nothing off-limits.

His only ally is his girlfriend, Audrey Carmen, who has a link to the syndicate that Ron doesn’t entirely understand. He works with, but isn’t entirely sure of, a set of police detectives who seem interested in breaking up the syndicate. But as Ron says, everyone is a suspect.

The second book in the Cigars and Legs series, The Boots Come Off sees Ron find the end of the conspiracy, one way or the other. Now that he knows who killed his friend Kate Nass and who ordered the hit, Ron has to use what technology is available to bring them down… before the price becomes too high.

Buy The Boots Come Off at Amazon!

The White Dames

The White DamesThey’re all attractive, dangerous, and related.

They all get intertwined with Ron’s life in one way or another, and each interaction is progressively more dangerous.

After dealing with the syndicate called Salt Marsh, Ron Cavanaugh has something of a slow period — interrupted by a set of Dames named White and the trouble surrounding them!

Ron has to deal with murder, affairs, and suspiciously posed bodies in a trio of exciting shorts that takes him from a trainyard all the way to the brink of a shoot out with police.

Enjoy three short cases packaged as one in: The White Dames


This is the fourth book in the Cigars and Legs series, and to start us off, here’s the description and preview samples from each story in the book:

BSK: Three Shorts, One NovellaRon Cavanaugh is back in this collection of short stories and a novella, which finds him investigating four different crimes starting with Ron finding himself up against an old, familiar face — and meeting up with his flying buddies from the war in a high stakes game he isn’t ready for, in Blue Skies.

From there he’s hired to look for two missing girls when the cops aren’t acting fast enough — and as it’s freezing outside and there’s an escaped mental patient on the loose, he is up against time. Time the girls don’t have, in Skies Fall.

The third short, Blue Falls, puts Ron in a tight spot: he’s asked to help investigate a murder while the small-town homicide detective is out of town. But not just any murder: several teenagers, brutally slaughtered while camping and echoes of a man from the mayor’s past — a man known as the Butcher of Biloxi.

Finally, in Blue Skies Fall, Ron’s law enforcement ties bring him in to investigate a brutal sexual assault out in the sticks — and he finds himself between two families doing their best to become the next Hatfield and McCoys!

Get Blue Skies Fall (Cigars and Legs Book 4) now!

Boots, Dames, and Skies: The Red, White, and Blue Collection

After the Blue Skies Fall, I’ve decided to throw everything together into one big collection: Boots, Dames, and Skies: The Red, White, and Blue Collection

All the stories so far packed as one:

The Boots Are Red

The Boots Come Off

The White Dames

Blue Skies Fall

Sword of Nalin

The Five

The Five“How common is magic, really?”

It was a simple question, but it didn’t come with a simple answer. That answer always depended on both where you were asking it, and what you defined as magic.

Zern found out just how little magic mattered when her home was attacked and her brother murdered by an ancient sorceress who had the power of alien technology far beyond anything she could have imagined. In the chaos, the fear took over and she forgot all her training. She panicked, and she used powers she didn’t quite understand to do something she hadn’t thought through.

Now she found herself trying to help three confused scientists and their friend escape the same dangerous ages old grudge that she herself was caught in. The four heroes she sought to join the Five were willing, but not able, to fend off Ciel Aria and her sycophants.

Now their goal was simple: Stay low and prepare until the right time, and then strike with a fury no one expected.

But there were complications, including the evil that haunted her dreams and sapped her life, taunting and humiliating her by exhibiting his complete control over her unconscious mind.

The thrilling adventure beings here, and weaves through lands ruled by horrible despots, a religious rebellion against the crown, and an age-old conflict between forces beyond the worlds of men.

“How common is magic, really?”

The answer is forthcoming.

Buy The Five at Amazon!

Prisoners of Sorcery

PRISONERS OF SORCERY COMPLETEsmThe trap snapped shut on them without warning.

After laying low and working toward a plan to get themselves out of the situation they found themselves in during the events of The Five, Aiden and his friends were scooped up by a vile sorcerer.

Split up and put into a maze-like dungeon, they have to fight their way to freedom… and then deal with the evil that is Ciel Aria.

But even if they manage to escape the traps set up before them… something more sinister awaits on the other side.

Buy Prisoners of Sorcery at Amazon!


Temple of the Fallen

It all ends here.

In a dark, abandoned temple in a remote section of the world, it all comes down to one final confrontation.

A confrontation in the making since before those who will decide it were born.

They move from the technological sorceress of “Prisoners of Sorcery” to a civil war, a political chess game, and an ancient evil that will not rest until he is stopped — or killed.

The question is no longer, “How common is magic?”

It is instead: “who blinks first?”

Buy Temple of the Fallen at Amazon!